Inspiration

I love seeing dancers who are humble on stage.
I love seeing dancers who are putting everything that is within them on the stage and into the piece they are performing.
I love seeing dancers who are incredibly versatile and can be soft and beautiful, sorrowful and angry, strong and creepy, gangsta and comedic.
I love seeing dancers who look like real people. Especially dancers who look like real women – who have thighs, and hips and a waist that is larger than the circumference their hands can encircle.
I love seeing dancers who cheer on their fellow competitors and performers.
And tonight, I loved seeing Melanie Moore win SYTYCD Season 8.
Melanie has been my favourite since I watched her audition for the show in the first few episodes of this season. She is special. She is unique. She inspires me.
I hope and pray that as I embark into the new world of studying dance at a professional and post-secondary level, as I rehearse and perform, watch and read, discuss and question, that I can reach a semblance of the magnificent athleticism, art and humility of Melanie Moore. Perhaps then I can pass the gift along and inspire another dancer.
Contribute to the conversation by leaving a comment.

